Leaders and directors in an organization are normally older people. Some people think young leaders would be better. Do you agree or disagree?

As an ordinary, most managers and headmen in an organization are seniors, while some folks say that youngsters should hold these positions. Although I believe that aged people are more proficient to be leaders, young generations have significant bases to be good leaders that the elders don’t have to build for sustainable development in the future

On the one hand, elderly people can be good leaders for the following reasons. First of all, since they are older, they have more experience in their working fields. Therefore, they are more confident in what they do while younger people will get quite confused in their first tasks. Secondly, the most important thing is that they have leadership skills that are not natural or innate, it is because they have more time to cultivate their ability to communicate, resolve conflicts, and problem-solving skills. Older people mostly have composure and a powerful voice to command other people, while youngsters may have trouble in training subordinates.

On the other hand, young leaders have features that seniors can not have. Firstly, they are passionate about their jobs, in other words, they are full of enthusiasm to constantly endeavor and improve themselves. Furthermore, younger people dare to try in new fields, whether they are risky. Secondly, we cannot deny that younger generations have more thorough training, also, they are more receptive and faster. For example, while applying technology to the operation or business activities of the enterprise helps create better value for customers, there are a majority of old people who are ‘blind’ of technology, however, youngsters can acquire it easily with their flexible brains and device more optimal development plans, depending on technology, in this digital age.

To conclude, despite agreeing that older people have more experiences and skills to become leaders in an organization, I do also believe that younger generations have qualities and attribute to take on the leadership go further.