Development in technology has brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the era of industrialization, along with developments of technology are the increase in environmental issues. While some people believe that living simpler is the way to solve these problems, others argue that technology is the answer to the solution. Despite agreeing that living simpler considerably improves the environment, I do also believe that technology should be applied to tackle its troubles.

On the one hand, I suppose that living simpler lives decreases environmental issues. Nowadays, because of industrial life, by burning fossil fuels for factories, the power, and transportation sectors, carbon dioxide is produced and causes climate change. Consequently, this contributes to global warming, which leads to serious calamity occurrences, such as rising sea levels due to thermal expansion and melting of glaciers and ice sheets, forest fires and the sudden appearance of pests and diseases.

On the other hand, some people, as well as me, believe that technology is the way to handle environmental matters. In particular, renewable energy technology is a notorious proof. Wind turbines, solar power, and hydroelectric power offer alternative sources of energy that are safe, affordable, efficient and especially, renewable. These resources might gradually replace fossil fuels due to their sustainability and environmental friendliness. Besides, smart houses are one of the examples of the contribution of technology to solve environmental issues. The home is one of the biggest energy users, but new technologies are helping to change that. Devices like smart thermostats and motion-activated lighting make it easier to only use power when you need it, which saves both money and energy.

In conclusion, although living simpler is one of the efficient ways to decrease harmful damages to the environment, I do believe that technology plays an important role in finding a solution for environmental problems.