Life has become much more stressful compared to our parents’ generation. As a result, stress-related illnesses are on the increase around the world.

Why is stress such a problem in the modern world and what do you think can be done to overcome the problems caused by stress?

Stress is a harmful phenomenon that can cause various kinds of problems in our society. Stress-related problems such as stomach ulcers, suicide and violence are good examples. This essay will describe the reasons for the presence of stress in our society and will explain how this problem can be overcome.

There are different causes of stress. At school and in the office, people are faced with various stressful competitive situations. From their early schooling years to their professional life, people spend a lot of time trying to be successful either by achieving high grades or by moving up the work ladder. Moreover, even at home, people might feel stress when they watch too many advertisements on television. They might find it difficult to cope with the pressure of wanting to buy different products and their inability to do so. Mobile phone companies, for example, persuade young people to change their phones regularly to keep up with the new technology. As a result, they start spending a lot of money on their phones and may even find themselves in a debt crisis that causes more stress.

In order to overcome this problem, relaxation and less exposure to stressful situations need to be considered. It is effective to try to release as much stress as you can from time to time. For example, sleeping for a long time on the weekend or spending time doing your favourite hobby is relaxing and therefore reduces stress. In addition, people should try to avoid situations that may become a source of stress later. One way to do this would be to pay less attention to TV commercials and have more realistic expectations of the products they can afford.

In conclusion, it can be seen that people can suffer stress for different reasons like competition and the negative influence of TV advertisements. Therefore, people need to be aware of this issue and try to overcome the problem. Unless people start avoiding and releasing stress, the problems that this phenomenon creates will continue to grow.