Life in many cities around the world is becoming so expensive that one day only rich people will be able to live there.

What are the causes of this situation? What measures could be taken to solve the problem?

It is irrefutable fact that cost of basic requirement of living has been increasing in urban areas. It can be predicted that only affluent class of society will able to survive in metro cities in future. There are several reasons for such a situation. However, certain steps could be taken to overcome the obstacle. Both the causes and remedies are analysed in ensuing paragraph.

Discussing the reasons of being expensive city and only survival of wealthy family, many examples can be put forward. The foremost one is that increasing demand of products and services. What I mean by this, every individual have willingness to acquire good service and essential thing to live smooth life and earning capability of citizens is very high in contemporary times. Thus, Demand of product such as house, cars, shops are at high level. Furthermore, more and more people from countryside are interested to migrate to city which leads to increase high expense of accommodation in city. For example, the cost of rented apartments in a metro city like Mumbai is more than double than that of those in a place like Surat, a typical small town.

There are numerous remedies to tackle this situation. Firstly, population of mega city should be under control. For that, higher authorities need to think towards stopping migration to metro city. Government should give job opportunities to people in rural area which automatically reduces migration. It also helps to control population of city. What is more, price of all commodities should be under observation of civic bodies. Along with that high taxes should be taken from affluent family to serve equally to other poor people.

To conclude, it is seen that survival in mega cities is really tough task because of increasing living expense. Over population, heavy demand of product and services are primary reasons of it. Active work of government can easily handle this scenario.