Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that being in the situation of living in another country and speaking another language can lead to barriers in terms of social interactins and daily routines. I, however, disagree entirely with the given statement according to compelling reasons which are going to be explained.

To being with, the main reason for disapproval of the aforementioned fact is that today technology is a determining factor in facilitating communication for people the whole world over. That is to say, applications and softwares for smart phones and personal computers designed by IT engineers are in such a high level that their merits are not negligible. Take Duolingo application used for learning foreign language as an example. More than millions are fond of taking advantage of its utilities. Therefore, these applications can be considered as a functional tool for expatriates.

Secondly, modern society has chosen English as a global and international language for a while. To put it differently, nowadays learning English and using it frequently is considered to be a necessity concerning the issue of social relations. The good illustration of this is people's tendency towards using English in order to communicate with others in a foreign country rather than trying to search their intended phrases in the country's original language through the internet.

To conclude, I strongly believe that living overseas can by no means affect one's social life as well as their daily and necessary tasks. This is mainly because the accessibility to brand-new technologies such as cellphone application is unprecedented and the globalization of English cannot be neglected.