Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While so many establishments put economic growth as their main objective, others believe that other aspects of development deserve the same attention as well. There are valid arguments on both sides of the controversy which are going to be elaborated and in the end, I will assert my own opinion.

On the one hand, There is a belief among some authorities which economy should be considered a priority in comparison with other matters related to people's quality of life. That is, if the government does not invest enough in economic matters of society, it will impinge on other areas as well. Take annual revenue gained through oil industry as example. Having oil price decreased noticeably, it can have deleterious effects on sanitation systems such as hospitals. Moreover, the more a country is developed economically, the more self-confidence it acquires in the international conventions.

On the other hand, There are others claiming that making a progress is a necessary target for all aspects which are connected to people's lives. The most compelling reason for their claim is that these aspects are so inextricably intertwined with each other that failing to reach the standards in each one can have a ripple effect on others, leading to economic collapse. The good illustration of this is the situation of politically isolated countries being imposed by international crippling sanctions. Political problems due to lack of diplomacy can have dire consequences in different matters such as banking and import and export operations. In addition, being deprived of carrying out projects with international companies can raise the costs to staggering sums. The extra investment could be spent on improving other fields such as national infrastructures.

To sum up, There are rational arguments on both sides of this contentious topic, however it is my firm conviction that the regime's attention should be apportioned equally to the improvement of all aspects as they are inseparable and completely linked to each other, therefore not addressing one's shortcomings can harm the other fields as well.