Our cities are noisier than ever before. Why is this so, and what can be done about it?

Noise pollution nowadays is considered a new problem compared with the past. Although there can be found root causes contributing to this situation, there also exists noticeable solutions to be employed to fix the problem.

Two main reasons play an important role in changing cities into noisy ones. First and foremost, population density is believed to be too much due to a considerable amount of countless amenities available to dwellers. To put it another way, investing staggeringly in metropolises by governments gives rise to a huge migration from the countryside to the cities teeming with facilities. The increase in population leads to a fair amount of daily commutes and heavy congestions. Take highly congested highways as example. The more people get stuck in traffic, the more they become furious and tend to use car horns. As a consequence, residents living across freeways can rarely experience tranquility. Secondly, one of the most popular jobs in heavily urbanized areas is running a coffeeshop or bars. When one is passing through the streets of a big city neighborhood by neighborhood, they can be surprised b the number of options of restaurants and bars accessible to them in order to have some food and enjoy their pastime. Taking into account that these cafes and bars usually have tendency towards playing music to cheer up the atmosphere, this can hugely increase the volume of noise pollution in the vicinity.

Despite the aforementioned contributing factor, there are workable solutions to remedy the situation. One measure which could be taken by government is to formulate a system for spending money on different districts fairly. That is to say, the establishment should define a formula based on the need of each state under its jurisdiction for controlling fair distribution of budget among the states. This method can potentially convince people to stay at their provinces rather than trying to migrate from them. Take Germany as example. The authorities provide people of each district with enough facilities that they hardly change their habitat. Therefore, the population density is kept reasonable at each state and as a result, the noise pollution is controlled better. Another viable alternative is to specify the number of restaurants allowed to be open at each neighborhood by law. This can help officials control the amount of noisy crowded bars which can be highly contributing to the matter of noise pollution.

To conclude, cities have changed into high noise polluted regions mostly because of overpopulation and a great deal of restaurants in each vicinity. Having said that, governments should focus on distributing the budget fairly in country and limiting the number of restaurants in the cities.