Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that living abroad has become commonplace in the light of globalization. However, a school of thought holds that people living in a different country often suffer from social and practical troubles. This is attributed to a host of factors, and in this essay, I totally agree with this viewpoint.

In terms of social problems, individuals moving to another country are likely to face the language barrier. Difficulties in using proper language in conversation and writing may create confusion and misunderstanding from native people. Gradually, they would be reluctant to form social connections or make friends, or may even become a target for bullying. Therefore, not being fluent at a foreign language is indeed challenging for outlanders to integrate into a new society.

In terms of practical problems, non-native speakers could run into some problems. Their misuse of a foreign language in tandem with differences in indigenous customs would make the locals occasionally unable to understand what they want to convey. As a result, non-native residents tend to miss out on a number of opportunities in life, especially in their career. For example, for those who want a promotion, a lack of knowledge about a foreign language can become a big obstacle to scale the heights of their profession.

In conclusion, it is ... that people who are not fluent in a foreign language when living overseas are likely to face social and practical troubles. However, this issue can be addressed if they make an effort to learn it.