As major cities in the world are growing today, so do their problems. What are problems for young people who are living in the cities as the result of continued growth? How problems might be solved?

Nowadays, it is true that major cities are developing and this may cause some potential problems. Young people have to face with several main problems which cause by the consequence of cities growth and these troubles could be tackled by the authorities.

As young people suffer from the result of cities development, several related problems can be foreseen. In fact, cities’ high housing rent costs are pricing out young residents and students who get depends mainly on their parent’s subsidy. Besides, cities growth affects mental health through the influence of increase stressors and factors such as overcrowded, polluted environment and high levels of violence. For example, young people experience environmental and psychological adversity that increases their vulnerability to mental disorders.

There are several actions that the authorities could take to solve the problems described above. In fact, the provincial and municipal authorities hold primary responsibility for tackling the consequences of high housing costs and they need to work together with housing associations to help young people. For example, they should provide more flexibility for young residents who want to rent a house and allow them renting with a fraction of the deposit which the landlords would normally require. Also, the urban authorities should tighten security to prevent violence and raise awareness of environmental protection. This may lead to declining the negative impacts on young people mental health.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various problems with the detrimental effects which growing cities have on young people and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.