As major cities in the world are growing today, so do their problems. What are problems for young people who are living in the cities as the result of continued growth? How problems might be solved?

Nowadays, the expansion of metropolitan cities triggers several detrimental effects on the youngsters dwelling in them. In my perspective, its drawbacks accounted for crime and the provision of vocational institutes would be the solution for it.

Admittedly, the growth of major cities is beneficial for these groups of people in terms of occupations, but it also enhances competitiveness. Firstly, those who lack ability and qualifications may become unemployed; thus, rising level of crime. In fact, becoming a metropolis attracts many foreign enterprises’ investment providing vacancies for young job seekers from all regions especially, overseas ones who have sufficient capability and skills to apply. Besides, those indigenous who are not qualified may undergo a low living standard since they are obligated to be blue-collar workers offered poor working conditions and low salaries. As a result, they have to commit crimes such as drug dealers and thieves to ensure and maintain their survival.

Therefore, the government should implement some measures to tackle it since its impacts on young people are inevitable. Firstly, the vocational institutes play an essential role in hampering this issue. As a matter of the fact, these institutes can allow the youth to approach advanced technologies and appropriate qualifications, and having a good grasp of knowledge can enhance the capability of competitiveness, reducing the unemployment rates and improving their living standard. To illustrate, there are several community colleges in every district of Ho Chi Minh city providing vocational education with free tuition for the youngsters since authorities desire to boost their workmanship and reduce the number of offenders within communities.

In conclusion, this expansion cause disadvantages to the young native denizens since it enhances the tension between them and foreigners in terms of occupation. Thus, the government should provide more vocational institutes to mitigate its negative effects.