Many believe that reading books is a waste of time and children would be better served doing

something more useful.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divergent on whether book reading for children is pointless and whether they should spend that time on more beneficial activities. I am firmly against this idea because of the benefits books can provide.

The first reason is that a child can acknowledge new information. As books are an overwhelming archive of information, almost every story and lesson is written on paper before being digitalized, children can open a book and discover new aspects of life they have never known. Some voice the concern that children are too young to be illiterate. These days, however, there are countless varieties of cartographic or pictorial books that not only spark a child's curiosity but are also more enjoyable and offer easily-understood information. Therefore, children may effortlessly absorb the primary meaning of books.

That children’s intelligence can be developed is another reason. Spending time reading books would assist in children’s cognitive system enhancement as it offers them time to solve specific problems and process the information given in books. Consequently, they can cultivate their problem-solving as well as language skills. For example, research from Danny College has shown that a majority of children who have spared their time with books have a higher level of language coherence and comprehension, meaning their intelligence level has risen.

In conclusion, there are some beliefs that rather than sparing time reading books, a child should be served doing more helpful tasks. Nevertheless, I strongly disagree with this statement as books are a useful source of information, and allocating time for reading would help cognitive development.