In many big cities in the world, the quality of life is decreasing. What are the causes and solutions for this?

There are some factors that explain why the living standard of city dwellers is reducing. Personally, I believe that this can be handled by adopting a number of solutions, as will now be presented.

Firstly, the air in urban areas is contaminated heavily. The rapid development of industrial activities and the dramatic increase in the volume of vehicles on the roads are associated with the rise in exhaust fume and gas emissions released into the environment. This leads to an increase in the number of people having severe health problems. For example, the poor air quality in big cities like Hanoi and Beijing has been a main cause of some incurable diseases related to respiratory system such as lung and throat cancers that are more common recently.

Secondly, the city life is stressful. Many people have to deal with overloaded work in companies, while they usually experience irritating feeling when getting stuck in traffic congestion. This results in anxiety and depression, holding them back from enjoying their lives.

However, a range of options available can be used to combat the issue. One measure would be that the governments should encourage industrial zones to relocate to the countryside, which contribute to the improvement of the quality of air in urban areas. For example, the authorities in Vietnam recently have offered financial incentive to move factories and plants to rural regions with hope to make the air in Hanoi cleaner. Another remedy is that people should spend more time engaging in physical exercises outdoors and taking part in social activities, helping them to not only improve their general health, but also relieve pressure from the busy life.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to solve the problems caused by the decrease in the life quality in big cities