In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing.

What do you think are the main causes of crime?

How can we deal with those crimes?

It is true that violent crime has increased in many countries lately. This essay examines some main reasons for this trend and argues that governments can play a major role in preventing such crimes.

There are at least two important factors that contribute to the increasing number of criminals. First , millions of jobs have been lost globally due to rapid advancements in technology, innovations that have led to higher unemployment rates in many workforces. In these circumstances, some unemployed people have difficulty finding jobs, so they will end up in poverty, which is the root cause of crimes occurring to support their needs. Some reports show that a growing number of petty crimes have been reported in big urban cities with high unemployment rates, like drug trafficking, robbery, and smuggling. Secondly , some research proves that youngsters these days are more likely to carry out violent acts due to a lack of morality and self-control.

These acts of cruelty have been influenced on daily basis by the media, which features many violent contents in numerous forms of entertainment such as online video games, and criminals' TV shows. Obviously, the offender rate is on the rise, if strict regulations have not been enacted. It would be the government's responsibility to tackle this problem, which can enforce law-abiding citizens to comply. In order to fix the root cause, education should be equally spread throughout the country to provide some practical skills that are currently in demand in the workforce. For example, in some countries, the local authorities have established professional institutions that provide technical training courses in specific fields such as mechanics, electricians, or informative technology. Moreover, lawmakers should introduce stricter laws and announce more serious punishments in order to discourage the young from breaking the law. As a result of the earlier approaches, we could see a decrease in criminal offences, while the overall quality of life in the nation would be improved.

In conclusion, I truly believe that expanding educational opportunities and amending the punishment for the young would help resolve the issue, with the authorities playing a significant role to make changes.