In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity has become a serious matter the effects children in many countries. While parents directly control the food their children consume, some individuals still believe that the governments must be accounted for this responsibility. In my opinion, I think preventing children from being overweight is a duty for both parents and the governments.

On the one hand, it is the governments’ job to restrict unhealthy food industry and provide health care for overweight children. Since there are many types of food being pushed to the market, these foods need to be categorized then evaluated whether they are healthy or not. Such task has to be carried out with research provided by the governments. Furthermore, only the authorities have the resource to establish national health care and large scale solution for the obesity problem among children. For example, many attempts to stop obesity by private organization in Vietnam have been shut because of the funding shortage, only one campaign run by the Congress is still being carried out.

On the other hand, parents need to actively control the food or drink that their kids use in order to prevent them from getting overweight. Firstly, parents can implement daily meals with more healthy substances such as vitamins and minerals. Scientists have proved that these substances can effect on human’s bowel system to reduce the absorbance of fat, thus stopping the obesity. Secondly, only parents are able to convince their kids to go on a diet and do more exercises. In the long term, this change in children’s behavior also leads to better physical health.

In conclusion, I believe that both parents and the governments share the responsibility for this rising problem of children obesity.