In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

What are your opinions on this?

In some nations, children are involved in different types of paid jobs. Although people view this act as improper, others see this as gaining an invaluable work experience interms of learning the skill of responsibility. This essay will show that the skill of responsibility for children can be learnt in schools and from their parents, also the fact that paid labour is totally wrong and unfair for children, as this can be seen as child abuse.

Children getting paid for labour is not right and can be viewed as child abuse. Admittedly, children will encounter physical and pyschological trauma in dealing with the daily activities of a paid work such as body injuries, anxiety, depression and so on, and these can be very detrimental to their health and wellbeing. Invariably, these incidents are unjust to children and amount to child abuse. For instance, according to the 2019 report from the World Health Organisation, 90% of children who engage in paid jobs, suffer from consistent abuse from their employers, most especially sexual assault.

However, some will argue that children will learn how to be responsible by engaging in paid work and it is indeed a beneficial work experience for them. In other words, they will learn to be punctual to work, to work as a team, to engage in individual tasks and so on.This, however can be learnt in their respective schools and from their parents. Thus, children engaging in paid labour will only expose them to unforseen dangers.

In conclusion, children should not engage in paid work because it is simply not the right step to take to being a responsible person, the schools and parents can take this position. Furthermore, the act of children engaging in a paid job can be seen as an outright child abuse.