Some students tend to play computer games rather than do sports. Why is this? What can be done to tackle the problem?

Students are more likely to play computer games than take part in sport activities. I believe students play more games because they derive more excitement and find doing sports much stressful. Nonetheless, a possible solution to this issue is for teachers to encourage their students on benefits of doing sports.

Admittedly, one of the major reasons students play more computer games is because they view sports activities as stressful and less interesting. Furthermore, they believe sports such as running and basketball require lots of energy and this will cause them to be fatigued. Thus, they tend loose interest and rather play computer games, which they see more exciting and less stressful. For instance, given a choice to either play computer games or football, I will definately pick the former because I find it more interesting and exciting.

Having said that, a problem is not without a solution. One of the possible solutions to this development is that teachers should educate their students on the gains of engaging in sports activities. Hence, this strategy will show students that playing football will help to burn fats in their body and lower blood pressure amongst other merits of doing sports activities. Invariably, this will make students more eager to participate in sports.

In conclusion, students would rather spend more time playing computer games than engage in sports activities, because they find gaming activities more interesting and less stressful. Nevertheless, a possible solution to this trend is for teachers to educate their students more on the advantages of doing sports, hence, encouraging them to take an active part.