Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that tertiary institutions should take in the same amount of boy and girl students for each of the courses. This essay disagrees that universities should make it compulsory, the intake of equivalent boy and girl students for every course. Firstly, this essay will show that female or male students have different choices, which should respected with regards to what they want to study and secondly, this essay will argue that making it mandatory for equal amount of both sexes in every subject can be a breach of a students freewill.

Humans have choices and these should be highly considered. consequently students have their various preferences as to the subjects they want to pursue in a university. A tertiary institution making it mandatory to place equal number of both sexes in a particular course will force these students to enrol in a course that they did not envisage doing and these have negative effects on their final results in school. For instance, according to the 2018 report from the Nigerian National Union of Teachers, 90% of students who finished with a third class degree result did not study the course of their choice because of Nigerian university policy on equal portion of male and female student for every subject.

In addition, this can lead to an abuse of the free will of students. In other words, students are denied the choice of what they want to study, essentially and most students will argue that this is simply not the right and proper thing to do.

In conclusion, it is clear that universities making it mandatory to have the same proportion of male and female students in every course is a disadvantage. This is because this students have the right to choose whatever subject they like to study and it is a breach of their individual freewill.