In many countries, government spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

All over the world, the question of how the governments should allocate their national budget often attracts a lot of public attention. Although nowadays there has been a trend on investing money in the global international network, this does not appear a proper way of spending.

There are a number of reasons why governments, especially those in developed countries, channel significant amounts of budget into improving internet access. First, since citizens in those countries are more likely to lead a life of good quality, they tend to demand improvements on recreational activities which include surfing the Internet as one of the most popular pastimes in the modern world. In fact, the faster internet speed is, the more satisfied residents become, thus the governments are just doing their job by putting more into providing better internet connections. Second, not only does it meet the demand of citizens but faster internet also leaves good impressions on foreign tourists. For example, South Korea, Hong Kong and Japan topping the list of fastest connection speeds in the world has appealed millions of visitors every year, which also brings benefit to those countries.

Nevertheless, it is more efficient to spend that substantial amount of state budget on other fields of life. first, regardless of satisfying people's leisure need, upgrading the Internet does not seem to have any remarkable impacts on the society, compared to just maintaining the Internet at an acceptable speed. this means that improving network systems to offer better connections is great but not necessarily the most appropriate aim for using government money. Furthermore, the authorities should pay more attention and investment to the crucial aspects of social life such as education, environment and welfare. The Internet, in the end, is nothing more than a means of contemporary days which should not come first when the core issues have not been fully tackled.

In conclusion, despite the fact that faster access of the Internet does bring lots of pleasure for people in their recreational life, it should not be the focus in distributing national expenditure. governments would better place an emphasis on solving important issues rather than upgrade less essential utilities like the Internet.