In many countries, governments are spending a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

It’s true that in many countries, governments are investing strongly in expanding internet access. There are some reasons for this trend and while I agree that it has plus points, I would argue that many different key factors need to be prioritized by public funding.

On the one hand, there are two main explains why governments spend more priorities on accessing internet. First and foremost, from the social perspective, this would broaden citizen’s horizon. For example, many knowledge resources or online courses are available on the internet that people easily access to learn and research. Another significant reason comes from the economic perspective, internet boosts the international cooperation that leads to increase the economic development. In particular, the internet supports foreign companies could contact and connect constantly; therefore they could expand their investigation to different areas.

On the other hand, although internet has many benefits, It seems to me that there are many different important things need prioritize than improving internet access. Firstly, governments should spend money on the factors that impacts directly to demand of citizens. For instance, the more schools or hospitals are constructed the more people could have chances to have a better standard living. Additional, polluted environment has become a serious problem that should be concerned by national and local authorities. By investing money on researching renewable energy resources, governments could reduce carbon footprint from burning fossil fuels which are a main reason of air pollution and climate change.

In conclusion, governments prioritize expenditure on accessing internet as some benefits; however I believe that there are many other fields which should be increased more spending by government.