In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

When it comes to food there are many options to choose from. However majority of the people tend to opt for food that is exported from other areas than buying the food that is processed locally. The imported food attracts its buyers but local food should also be promoted .

With regards to the internationally processed food , there are many reasons why people tend to buy these food items. Firstly the exotic verities available make it clear. For instance the local food might not have that much options where as internationally processed food will definitely have it. Secondly the international food companies invest more in attractive packaging as a result to which it is sold in more numbers as compared to the local food companies.

In order to increase the consumption of locally produced food items , the companies should promote their products on television. Rather than settling with normal packaging , attractive colors should be used which are eye catching. The government should also help in campaigning for product promotion and spread awareness about the local food companies to increase their profit. Consequently the production would increase to some point. Furthermore the companies can set some sort of discounts to attract the consumers.

To conclude , Although the multinational food firms are increasing their profits by expanding the business in other countries , the government should help the local companies in order to increase their consumption.