In many countries, people in big cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, in many countries, it is said that more and more people in modern cities select live alone or in small family units, instead of in large families. I think that this trend is positive. This essay will present my view.

The first positive point of this trend is that people could feel more pleasant when living alone or in small households because it allows them to enjoy life in their own way. In fact that it is difficult to get along with all other members of an extended family. So, living alone or in a small family is the best solution to reducing the conflicts among members. As a result, the family atmosphere would become more laid-back if fewer people live together. For example, lots of people have been stressful when dealing with the difference between modern parents and backward grandparents on how to bring up kids.

The second positive point of this trend is that it helps people more independence. If living in an extended family, there is one benefit that people could be gotten is that supporting from relatives. However, many people favor in do nothing, but only relying on others. Living alone or in a small household that could help people learn how to manage to, such as take care of themselves, cover self-living costs. That is extremely necessary for modern societies.

In conclusion, with the above reasons mentioned, I believe that the trend which people in modern cities prefer living alone or in small family units to in large families is positive.