In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Because the development of technology and grows of wealth, people’s life expectancy become longer and longer. Although older people can contribute to the society, but the variation of population may lead more problems.

An issue relate to the ageing problem is the fee of health medication will increase, and make more pressure on taxer. As we all known, most of medical needs and fee are coming in old age. So, government need spend more money to take care old people, whereas, other critical services will face fund shortage problem, such as education. With increase number of older workers, slow rhythm of work will become another problem. As age growing, people’s abilities of absorb information and tackle problems will gradually decline. If older people delay retirement, they may affect company’s efficiency and benefit.

On the other hand, more people will delay their retirement and prolong their career, and their experience and wisdom are great treasures of society. Because people pay more attention on health diet and sports, they can live more health and longer. They can teach their knowledge and skills to young people. For example, some senior managers will teach young people how to manager a company, and how to serve clients better.

To sum up, increase on life expectancy have put pressure on many country’s health medication, it will also affect the output of labours. Although we can utilize old people’s wisdom, this will influence development of economy.