Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Other say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days many people are willing to acquire a second language. In large portions, foreign languages are not used as much as a native language, but it is a beneficial skill.

The primary function of foreign languages is to communicate with foreigners frequently. For people who work and travel in overseas countries, foreign languages can help them to integrate into local society. By contrast, a second language might be unnecessary for people who live in their own country. In the home country, most things around are explained in people’s mother tongue, such as books, movies, and advertisements.

On the other hand, learning foreign languages not only for traveling and living beyond seas but also have a better understanding of foreign culture through foreign languages. Language is the crystallization of the long-term development of human society, and culture and language are closely linked. For example, Chinese poems, although many are translated into foreign languages, they cannot beat the original works. By acquiring foreign languages, people can understand international anthology and music, also feel the foreign culture in person.

In my view, foreign languages is an essential skill; it can help people to broaden their horizons. For example, in the field of academic research, learning foreign languages have significant advantages, because foreign languages can help people draw upon the expertise of other countries. Bilingual or multilingual also tend to have a better job prospect. As a modern society are become more and more international, acquiring foreign languages will become a popular trend.