Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Other believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The time we are now in is an information era there more information means more possibility to succeed, especially in scientific field. Though it is of great sense to share cutting-edge scientific information, some core technologies deserve being kept secrets for a period to stimulate a better development of science.

An open and transparent scientific information environment will be beneficial to the improvement of individual’s living conditions. Science in this modern society is a popular field where the more information is shared the more novel ideas can be created, acting as the sources of direction of further scientific researches, the results from which can be applied for the public. For example, the invention of vaccines for some epidemics should be released to the whole world to protect everybody on this planet from contracting the diseases. If only a minority of people can have access to the vaccines, the world would be unimaginably a disaster.

Notwithstanding, it is reasonable some scientific information to be classified for protecting the security of the whole society, usually scientific researches an d technologies, those about military in particular, are highly confidential as they matter a lot for the nation as well as the whole world, so they are too dangerous for sharing. If everyone knows how to build a gun, the individual safety can never exist, let along the peaceful life we are now living. The best way to prevent such situation is keep those kinds of information known within a small group of experts, thus the wellbeing of ordinary people will be maintained.

In my view the scientific information should be categorized according to its purpose and then it can be decided as shared or classified. As it talked above, it is not suitable for all the information shared without any restrictions. So if releasing some particular information would cause chaos to the society, the government should not let it happen, and if not, the sharing is fine to be done.

To sum up, whether the scientific information should be shared or not is decided by its own purpose.