Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Other say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days many people are willing to acquire a second language. In large portions, foreign languages are not use as much as native language, but it is a very useful skill.

The main function of foreign languages is communicate with foreigners normally. For people who work and travel in overseas countries, foreign languages can help them to integrate into local society. By contrast, a second language might be unnecessary for people who live in their own country. In the home country, most things around are explained in people’s mother tongue, such as books, movies and advertisements.

On the other hand, learning foreign languages not only for travelling and living beyond seas, but also have a better understanding of foreign culture through foreign language. Language is the crystallization of the long-term development of human society, and culture and language are closely linked. For example, chinese poems, although many are translated into foreign languages, but they cannot beat the original works. By acquiring foreign languages, people can understand foreign anthology and music, also feel foreign culture in person.

In my view, foreign languages is a very important skill, it can help peopla to broadening their horizons. For example, in the field of academic research, learning foreign languages have great advantages, because foreign languages can help people draw upon the expertise of other countries. Bilingual of multilingual also tend to have a better job prospect. As modern society are become more and more international, acquiring foreign languages will become a popular trend.