In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In the recent years, the family sizes have been smaller than it used to be, and, this situation has had a number of profound impacts on not only individual life but also all aspects of society. In my opinion, there are both advantages and disadvantages in this case.

On the one hand, fewer members in a family can cause negative effects on family relationship and the national economy. Firstly, in modern society, the generation, when they are in the nest-leaving age, has a tendency to get away from their houses and live independently. It means that there is less time for children and parents to interact, thus breaking the knit-close family relationship. Furthermore, the increase of nuclear family is due to delaying parenthood. As a result, the number of young people in the workforce would decline, which have adverse effects on the sustainability of national economy.

On the other hand, besides drawbacks the development of small family also bring many benefits. In fact, members in a small family will often have a better life than in the family with many generations. For example, only child will be fostered and educated better, since their parents allocate all their resources to nurture their child. In addition, fewer people in a family can lower breadwinner’s burden. It is obvious that they are under the fewer amount of responsibility than those looking after a large extended family.

In conclusion, nowadays, nuclear families have become ever popular. I personally think that although this development causes many disadvantages, there are also a wide variety of advantages.