Many countries use fossil fuels such as coal or oil as the main sources of energy. However, in some countries the use of alternative

sources of energy is encouraged.

Do you think this a positive or negative development?

While fossil fuels are the predominant energy source in many countries, the use of renewable sources is highly recommended in other nations. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major downsides/ consequences drawbacks when using alternative energy sources. Firstly, this investment might cost a huge amount of national budgets. If government pay attention to discovering alternative energy sources, other sectors of life such as education or healthcare system would lack of sufficient subsidization from governmental organizations, which impedes national growth. Secondly, the safety during operating of alternative energy sources is also a main concern. This concern is a fact when people witnessed two explosions of nuclear plants in Russia and Japan. It not only killed thousands of people immediately but also made many people who have caught cancer by the release of radioactive emissions.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this view is that alternative energy sources such as solar power or wind power are environmentally friendly because they discharge carbon emissions less than fossil fuels in functioning process. As a result, we may reduce the dependence on fossil fuels such as coal, oil, gas, which are exhausted day by day this help people cut down on emissions to fight climate change as well as prevent global warming. Another reason is that wind, solar, tidal are not only the alternative sources of energy but also the renewable. By using them, people will have boundless energy sources in the future in order to achieve sustainable development.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the government and the public should use alternative energy sources because their advantages are more significant than their disadvantages.