In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, it is undeniable that there is a drastic fall in the number of youngsters who are fond of reading newspapers or watching news on television. In this essay, I will discuss some of the main causes of this issue and recommend a few productive solutions to it.

First and foremost, there is plethora of factors that more and more young people find it boring to read newspapers or follow the news on TV. Initially, with the advancements of modern technology, youngsters are likely to read online news which is much more optional for them, supply them with many updated stories about their idols, their general trends on social media rather than be overwhelmed by a great number of political or economic news. Besides, the young generation now has squandered too much time and money on the internet playing video games or chatting with their friends and living a virtue world on the grounds that they are impacted by the idea that reading newspaper is a waste of time which does not bring any value for them. Last but not least, it is common knowledge that the young have to cope with the fast space of modern life no less than adults. Students have to go through a tough and tight schedule with homework, extra curricular activities. Others are burdened by the pressure of being successful at workplace to make their parents proud. As a result, it is understandable that youngsters have cared little about social news.

Nevertheless, I still believe that this problem should be tackled as soon as possible as the young especially students can reap a lot of potential benefits from reading newspapers or watching news on TV. We need to take proactive measures to persuade more and more people to have a habit of reading news. It is crucial for the educational system to make a considerable change with the aim of creating a culture of reading for children at the very young age. Furthermore, in terms of program producers or, it would be much better when news channels or magazines make content that caters for adolescence’s need. For example, they can attach teenagers’ attention by means of reporting about social trends among the young, or famous people with unique styles and talents.

To sum up, I think reading newspapers accompanied by getting news from TV plays an integral part in every day life. Therefore, people should apply some methods to form a more civilized society.