Many famous sports players advertise products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, sports persons are often seen endorsing products. Although these could help them to earn some extra income, these may have detrimental effects on their game play and viewers.

To commence with, entrepreneurs pay hefty amounts / a hefty amount to promote their products in market because promotions play an imperative role in the growth of their business. Therefore, sportsmen are being offered many benefits other than regular remuneration such as lifetime deals and partnerships in profits. For instance, Nike has announced a lifetime deal with famous football player Cristiano Ronaldo for 1 billion USD. These kinds of deals help them to increase their monetary value and lead a luxurious lifestyle. Moreover, owing to the ubiquitous nature of adverts their fame reaches farther corners of the world including small towns and villages.

However, as the players are widely known through promotions there will be huge expectations from them in the game and players often fall prey to stress which could have a significant impact on their field performance. When players fall short of their fans’ expectations, they face criticism and this may even cause depression in them. Another downside is that some really talented players will lose focus in the game once they start making easy money through endorsements. Eventually, it will hurt their game and they will lose both their career and their endorsement deals. This is a loss for them as well as their nation.

To conclude, by endorsing products players earn fame and money. However, there are downsides to this practice, as commercial deals may hurt the performance of the player by putting them under too much pressure or making them lose focus in the game.