Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In this day and age, the importance of money is undeniable, a huge number of states claim that economic development is their most vital goal while some people think that the significance of every type of progress is equal. Personally, I strongly agree with the later statement, a number of arguments around my idea.

On one hand, there are several reasons why economic progress is considered the most important task. Firstly, the national budget could provide for residents a better quality of life . If a country gets high economic development, they could invest that amount of money in the country's transport network, education, healthcare,..., . For instance, the public could have better welfare, children could be provided a better education environment. Secondly, a wealthy economy results in more job creation, a high level of employment, and higher salaries for citizens. It can be easily seen that in many wealthy countries, the unemployment rate is really low and the amount of money earned per a person is extremely high compared with poor countries.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that the role of other types of progress is as important as that of the economy. To begin with, the success of a nation could be measured by looking at the health, well-being and happiness of the residents. If a country focuses too much on economic growth and ignores other types of progress, their residents could suffer from poor social service, for instance, poor transportation network, poor healthcare system. Therefore, that huge amount of money would be unmeaning if it is not used to enhance the resident's life. Furthermore, another key consideration when judging the progress of a modern country should be how well that country protects the natural environment, and whether it is moving towards environmental sustainability

In conclusion, even though the significance of economic progress is undeniable, other types of progress are equally important to a country.