Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people.

Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is becoming increasingly common to see that the overall amount of viewer visiting museums and historical sites is covered mainly by foreigners, instead of local people. Some explanations will be put forward before solutions can be drawn to tackle this problem.

There are several reasons why this case is depending on two mentioned types of visitors. In fact, people who live in the neighborhood assume going to those places would be a waste of time and money paying for the entrance cost. Moreover, because the layout of museums and historical house is likely to remain unchanged through years, they can be visually unattractive to the local inhabitants, who may have been to these sites for at least once in earlier years. In addition, tourists from other places tending to pay a visit to museums appear to satisfy their curiosity. These locations can provide them with a comprehensive overview of the traditions in the particular locality.

Some measures can be taken to appeal more domestic people to visit historical sites. First, government should invest in the development and innovation of those places with more decoration and ornate designs of the interior. Such annually historical events should be held for the sake of not only appreciating the traditional value of the country, but also increase the number of the local who come to enjoy wonderful time. Besides, should entry costth be specially reduced or cut off for loclal residences, for instance, at HCM’s masoleum, visitors with identification card proving to be Vietnamese would be able to get in gratis.

In conclusion, historical areas and museums can be uninteresting for local citizens because they can be too familiar with the culture that these places depict and actions should be taken to encourage people to go to such places.