Some people believe that Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on the suitable sanction for teenagers who have broken the law. While some argue that those young offenders need to suffer the same level of punishment as adults, I highly dispute with this idea owing to their age and there must be other solutions in this situation.

On the one hand, many people ague that no matter who you are, if you have carried out serious cime, you would be considered to receive an appropriate punishment. These punishment actually act as a deterrent to juvenile criminal as well as adult one against their re-offending. For example, a young murderer would not feel guilty and repentant for what they have already caused and would be likely to continue his misdeed if he was not given a severe retribution. As a result, this will be, of course, dangerous to the whole society. Furthermore, harsh disciplines including imprisoning are commonly thought to be effective in re-educating these people.

However, young people committing crimes appear to have convincing reasons that they deserve a lower punishment compared with the older. In fact, such is the age of young offenders early, such is their awareness and experience inadequate, that they are not really well-informed about the damage and consequence that involve in crime would cause to their community and themselves. Also, with the lack of intellect, they are not afford to distinguish what is bad or what is good and eventually this would lead them to illegal actions that they believe they are doing right. In addition, their ability to control emotion is not enough to get over the shock or mental disorder of being imprisoned, even when they come back to normal life after releasing. If they have to face prison and live in this environment, in the long run, they may adopt negative behaviors which could not only change their attitude in bad way, but also obviously lose the true function of prison.

In conclusion, young people committing crime should be give more chances to atone their fault and improve themselves instead of suffering such harsh punishment.