Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the cases? What can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is argued that museums and places of historical significance are primarily attended by tourists than the locals. This essay aims to look at two major causes of the phenomenon and suggest possible solutions to encourage the attendance of the locals to these places.

There are a number of factors responsible for why more foreign visitors than the locals pay more visits to museums and history-related places. One of the reasons is that as newcomers to another country, visitors show a greater sense of curiosity about the local history and thus feel strongly motivated to explore these locations. It is true that foreign visitors really wish to expose the cultural heritage and war relics as well as gain an insight into the destination country while the local citizens are usually well-acquainted with the past of their nation. The second reason is that foreigners are more willing to pay the admission fees. To be more precise, many well-known historical sites do not come cheap and often need a substantial amount of entrance fee, which is more affordable for visitors from other countries than some less rich locals in developing ones.

In order to resurrect the interest of the local people in coming to museums and sites of historical importance, many courses of actions are available. One approach is to arouse the curiosity among the native people by organizing varied activities which may join art performances of famous public figures. This not only helps them feel the need to learn the historical lessons but also cultivate their sense of community and patriotism. The second measure can be that the local authorities should lower the entrance fees or offer some discounts to local residents. As a result, they will feel less burdened by their financial conditions.

In conclusion, while it is understandable why foreigners often show greater enthusiasm for museums and historic spots, proper actions can be adapted to awaken the interest of local inhabitants in those places.