Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Generally, tourists are more likely to visit museums and historical places rather than local people due to different kinds of reasons and the governments always try to attract more local people but it is a complicated problem that has been evaluated in this essay.

It is true that the tourists travel to another country in order to experience unique things that certainly one of the first options will be the museums. Indeed, the mentioned places are just related to a specified country and they cannot find them in their countries. In fact, they are not acquired enough about the other possible way when they are traveling to another country. As a result, a high percentage of tourists in historical places is logical. On the other hand, the people of each country prefer to spend their leisure time in terms of more exciting activities and they are aware of more fun and attractive ways in their countries in comparison with visiting that probably has become boring and usual for natives. For instance, the most important place which every tourist in Paris will visit is the Eifel tower while the resident of Paris always passes it indifferently.

There is some easy way to increase the rate of native visitors by introducing them through TV ads, discounts for local residents, and the construction of entertainment complexes in the neighborhood of museums to provoke families for visiting museums along with them. For example, creating an area to play with children beside the museums will help families to visit there by achieving multiple goals at the same time. One of the sophisticated solutions may be to appeal to schools to bring their pupils to historical places during learning of related subjects or as extra activities in the summer to get familiar more with their history and culture.

In conclusion, it seems the lower visiting of historical places by native people is reasonable to some extent and the governments can encourage the people by increasing their knowledge and creating other exciting facilities beside them.