In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In this modern society today, humans are tending to choose to live single or in a small family rather than in a nuclear family in the past. In my perspective, I believe that this tendency has both advantages and disadvantages. This essay below will outline them.

On the one hand, there are some benefits for people to get when they live alone or in a small family. Firstly, many young people will have good conditions to develop themselves. For example, many students now have to stay away from their families for pursuing their studies, they will become more independent and confident as they will have to learn how to take care of themselves and make their own decisions without evaluating on guidance from their families. Freedom is also a reason for people to choose this form of life. You would be able to eat anywhere or do whatever they want to do without caring or worrying about other people's opinions. Children of small families, especially first and only children, tend to have higher school and personal achievement levels than do children of larger families. All care, attention and finance will be focused on him/her so he/she will have more chances to study abroad and gain international qualifications and that would ensure them a better job after graduation.

On the other hand, this trend also brings several drawbacks. First of all, the old often suffer from diseases such as heart attack so when the illness develops without someone beside them that is really dangerous. Besides, elderly people often have more free time, which will make them experience feelings of loneliness and isolation when they live alone and that will cause mental problems, for instance, depression. Furthermore, in this society today, both parents go to work, children in small families often have lack care and guidance. The kids could easily engage in criminal activities such as illegal drug use or illegal gambling that may ruin their future.

In conclusion, the shrink of household size is accompanied by both merits and demerits. Personally, I remain uncertain whether this trend is positive or not.