Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

Nowadays, some people argue that ancient buildings ought to be demolished in order to create more space for modern ones. In my opinion, old buildings still play a significant role in the country's development and history should not be considered expendable. Therefore it is necessary for governments to preserve them.

Some buildings constructed a long time ago are an indispensable part of the country's history as they are the cultural heritage. Every country has its own cultural values, and historical buildings are the ones that differentiate a country from the others. Hence, if we destroy these buildings, all historical and cultural values will be lost and every country will look like the same. In addition, by visiting these buildings, foreigners and local people can learn about the nation's history and all of the achievements that the ancestors had made. For instance, The Imperial City of Hue, which is located at Hue City in Vietnam, is a glorious architecture that preserve precious heritage from the reign of Nguyen Dynasty. Visiting this place, people will be able to have knowledge and even experience the past life of the royal family.

Although maintaining old buildings requires an enormous amount of money, they benefit the country rather than hindering its development. Governments can repair these buildings and change them into tourist attractions by allowing traders to open souvenir shops or cafes inside and nearby. This, in turn, will effectively entice tourists to visit these places and greatly improve the country's economy.

In conclusion, I believe that old buildings are very important to the country and they should not be knocked down. Instead, governments should renovate these buildings so that they can contribute to the development of the country.