Nowadays, the law is protecting many old buildings due to its historical value. On the other hand, many people believe that these building should be replaced with the new ones because of the need of houses and offices. In this essay, I will show how important it is to protect the old buildings and answer if history should leave behind progress.

There are many reasons why maintaining old buildings is essential. First of all, these buildings have educational values. By visiting historical architectures, youngsters will understand more clearly about history of their countries. Moreover, instead of some dull lessons, students will be more enjoyable if they can see the historical sites face-to-face and it will boost their interestment in history. Secondly, old buildings represent a country cultural identity. For examples, when a foreign visit Ha Noi, they always looking for Uncle Ho’s tomb, or when they visit Washington D.C, white house is the signature sites of the city that everyone wants to visit. Therefore, if the old buildings are knocked down, a part of cultural identity will loss. For those reasons, maintaining old buildings is vital.

In addition, history should not stand in the way of progress. The primary reason is that it will be a big loss if people loose their history identity. Although development is necessary, it is also important that the progress go along with historical aspect so that people will not loose their culture.

To sum up, maintaining old buildings is a unreplace process of every countries and history and progress should go together.