In many parts of the world, there is

continuous coverage of sport on television.

Some people believe this discourages the

young from taking part in any sports

themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

with that statement?

Television has become the state of the art entertainment tool and people may subscribe to their preferred channels at a low cost. However, some critics warn that teens would not engage in sports once they start watching sports channels fervently. I personally think that it discourages sports-lovers to play games as the intrinsic issue is whether the youths love sports deeply.

Firstly, television may alter teenagers' interests because of the widespread coverage of sports programs. For example, many youths in my country prefer watching sporting competitions to taking sports in real life. This leads them to spend more time in front of a TV set than taking part in outdoor activities.

In contrast, youths who are fans of sports may not be influenced by television adversely. For example, a person who favors watching the Liverpool soccer team will be inspired by the team which appears on television and may wish to experience how they play soccer during a competition. In other words, teenagers may start to get involved in sports due to their admiration for the sports team. Consequently, television may be a useful tool to arouse the interest of teens having sports.

It is a basic human nature that they try to mimic something that they enjoy. According to this nature, someone who finds some sort of game interesting on TV would like to play it as well. The broadcast of sports on TV makes these games more popular in many countries and it is natural that people of these areas would spend more time playing these games. People mostly watch interesting and live sports rather than watching all the sports all the time. Sports channel not only broadcast games, they also show programs that make critical analysis and shows the history of the games and these two aspects help the interested youths learn more about the games. While there are plenty of programs that could have negative impacts on the young generation, with the popularity of sports channels, young people watch sports more than those short of negative programs.

To conclude, the fundamental issue is whether the young treat themselves as spectators or athletes. In the case of the teens imagine themselves as spectators, television may dishearten them from taking part in sports but reversely, it may encourage the youth to start engaging in sports too.