Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school. Some people believe that this is a negative development while others think there are some benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The idea that spending a large amount of time commuting to work or school has its own advantages remains a source of controversy. While many people agree that this phenomenon is beneficial to some certain extent, I would argue that the downsides of it cannot be overlooked.

On the one hand, people may consider long trips to work as opportunities to enjoy themselves and the best solution to reduce the problem of urban overpopulation. In terms of contentment, when using public means of transportation such as buses or metros, citizens have more time to contemplate sceneries along the road getting to workplaces. This would help them to relieve the working pressure as well as boost their mental well-being. Regarding the issue of metropolises, although living in suburban areas or in the countryside, people have to drive a long way to their companies or school in the city, this could alleviate the demand of huge population in downtowns. In addition, when inhabiting remote areas, people can benefit from fresh air and a peaceful environment away from the hustle and bustle of life.

On the other hand, I would contend that the tendency of taking a lot of time just driving to corporations or education centers is more negative. Firstly, it is obvious that it is a waste of time for those who are always up to the ears. Long driving times per day accumulated over time might make people suffer from mental problems because the driving task requires high concentration and alertness, especially on highways where small mistakes can lead to traffic accidents. Secondly, more private vehicles like cars or motorbikes on the streets would worsen the traffic congestion in rush hours. Consequently, air pollution in center regions would be more intensive due to gas emissions from these transports.

In conclusion, whereas long driving hours to firms or schools have several merits, it seems to me that this trend is more disadvantageous for all the mentioned reasons.