Many people around the world believe that competition is important, while others say it has its drawbacks. Do you think the positives of competition outweigh the negatives?

It is irrefutable that competition has augmented in every walk of life in the today's world. It is argued by many people that competition is crucial for everyone; however, others believe that it has negative consequences. Despite of having drawbacks of competition, In my opinion, I believe that it has more positives compared to its negatives.

Admittedly, there are some basic negatives of competition. First and foremost, it can lead people to negativity. What I mean, after doing a lot of hardwork, sometimes people are not able to win the competition. So, people think that they are not capable and it affects their self-esteem. In extreme cases, it can take people towards severe problems like depression. For instance, New York Times revealed that Olympians may have feeling of depression as they lost in the competition. Another is, it creates too much pressure on people. Having more competition on workplaces, schools and so on. Individuals always try to compete with each other. Hence, they might not be able to bear such kind of pressure.

Nevertheless, in spite of the disadvantage above, I believe that competition has potential benefits too. Firstly, it can help us to boost our self-confidence. In other words, owning to competition, people will excel their capacity and go beyond their level. Eventually, they will gain confidence. Secondly, it proffers motivation to folks for doing works. For instance, in schools, students have competitive atmosphere. Therefore, it will encourage them to study harder. Moreover, people are able to assess their strengths and weaknesses. By knowing our weaknesses, peole will have a chance to improve it. Consequently, individuals may increase their quality of work. Lastly, competition can give us better choice. Because of increasing competition between different companies, people can get better quality of products at reasonable prices.

Having said that, gaining confidence and motivation far outweigh any of minor negatives that competition brings.