Many people believe that teachers should take the responsibility for the students to judge what is right and wrong and behave well, while others feel that teachers should only teach academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has been controversial whether the teachers’ job is to mainly deliver academic lectures or to assist the students on their decisions and behavior. In my opinion, I believe that every teacher from all educational institutes has the balance on both aspects.

On the one hand, teaching main subjects is essential to prepare for the students’ future career. It is quite fundamental to transfer all required skills that students need when they apply for an occupation later in their lives. Since the young cannot firmly develop these abilities and academic knowledge by their own effort, it is absolutely the teachers’ duty to take care of this task for the sake of students’ future. Moreover, parents pay a huge amount of money to make sure their children get the best education as much as possible. Thus, teachers are demanded to carry out this job of lecturing academic lessons without a doubt since they are making a living out of this.

On the other hand, along with being filled with academic knowledge, students are also in need of advices and suggestion from the teachers to guide them. Firstly, most of the students are in the age group of six to eighteen, in which these individuals still are not fully in control of making correct decisions. This is when teachers step in, their advices will greatly impact on the pupils’ prejudice judgements. For example, a teacher would interfere school violence and give suggestion to the kids who assault the others, which eventually turn a bully into a better person with greater humane concept. Secondly, during the time that young people have to stay at school, teachers are the ones whom these individuals mostly interact with and look up to, not the parents. Therefore, the responsibility of guiding correct choices and behavior is apparently belong to the teachers.

In conclusion, while teaching academic subjects is important for children’s career, it is also the duty of the teachers to support the students on making right decisions and actions.