Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their home town. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Depending on an individual’s condition and circumstance, students can consider one of two following strategies of learning language: learning abroad or studying in their hometown. In my perspective, students learning a new language in a foreign country can gain more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, learning foreign language abroad can bring about lots of advantages for students. Firstly, being immersed in a language is more conducive for language learning. That students contact with native speakers frequently helps them have more opportunities to practice language. They can comprehensively imitate the way that native speakers use their own language in all aspects of learning language such as vocabulary, grammar, pronunciation, internation... Secondly, learning abroad means that students have an awesome chance to get exposed to different cultures and customs of indigenous residents, this also can enrich their language capacity.

On the other hand, learning abroad can cause several disadvantages to students. Firstly, learning in a foreign country may be more expensive because students must pay the rent, flight tickets, for example. With this money, students can attend a high-quality language course in their hometown. However, some students can do part-time or casual jobs with higher income when learning in some wealthy countries. Besides, with the advantage of facilitating language acquisition, this investment is worthwhile for affluent students. Secondly, learning abroad takes students some time to be familiar with the new environment. Some students can waste their time as they can adapt to the new conditions and have to return to their hometown.

In conclusion, although there are some troubles when learning in a strange country. Nevertheless, with the advantages that learning abroad can bring about, students should be motivated to step out of their safety horizon by seeking new challenges in new environments.