Many people choose to work or live abroad because of the higher standards of living they can find outside their home country. Do you think this brings more advantages or disadvantages to the people who follow this path?

The trend of foreign employment and education is becoming ever more popular in recent times. This is not without reason, as there are a plethora of incentives such as financial stability or greater opportunities. While there may be many tradeoffs, I believe that the benefits do present a better balance to the risks present.

The foremost reason that encourages people to relocate abroad is perhaps the promise of a better future. In many countries, especially developing ones, chances for an elevated social status are scarce and require intensive and extensive knowledge, experience, and training. Consequently, nations with competitive developments in respective fields often attract talents. With Australia being a leading innovator in modern agricultural integration, or advanced Arts and Media tertiary programs, it is obvious for students and workers alike to migrate there for those in the profession. Another potential this trend could bring about is the appeal of foreign presence it could provide. Professionals with multiple years in an international conglomerate abroad certainly look more reliable than the domestic competition and could be a better guarantee for their career tracks than the rest. The benefits are invaluable, and the investment is certainly worthwhile to many that are seeking to ameliorate their status quo.

However, the drawbacks are still imminent, especially in terms of personal wellness and security. When departing your hometown, it is inevitable for the immigrant to feel a sense of detachment in their new environments. Cultural shocks, time differences, and language barriers are all factors instigating sadness, and in some cases, depression. Without people of familiarity, a person cannot find someone to confide in or to share interests with. Another conspicuous and concerning fact is the safety of one’s stay since we are completely like a fish out of water. We do not know of our surrounding neighborhood, its quirks, its problems, and everything about its ins and outs. As such, one cannot always feel at ease during their initial phase.

With regards to the downside, however, these are just an inherent sense of insecurity that is not just unique to moving to another country, but also to moving around in general. These feelings of anxiety and nervousness will gradually fade with time, as we start to adapt familiarize ourselves with these novelties, and even start to make them feel at home. Lethargic days will turn into comfort, intense weather will become normalcy; language barriers will be torn, and loneliness will be accompanied. New feelings will replace the dwindling old ones and will not be with us for the entirety of our stay.

It is such that I perceive the advantages to outshine those opposite. With promising prospects for future developments, the chances are worth the risks to take, especially when those drawbacks could come to pass.