Many people now undertake extreme activities, from hang-gliding to mountain climbing.

Why do people risk their lives in this way, and do you think this is a good trend?

In today's world, many people develop an interest in extreme sports such as hang-gliding and mountain climbing. I believe that these activities are done because some people love to perform adventurous activities to excel the limits, and I am also convinced that these sports provide many advantages.

Today, many people take a part in extreme activities such as hang-gliding because by doing these sportspeople can measure their physical fitness. These types of sports require not only physical fitness but also physiological streght. Thus, when people can perform these sports they may consider themselves fit in both physical and physiological well-being. Another reason why people taking part in extreme sport is the improvement of extreme sports equipment quality. In the past, people were reluctant to participate in these activities because of the lack of safety provided by the equipment. However, thanks to the advancement in sports technology, in recent years, sports tools are designed as safely as possible. Therefore, extreme sports enthusiasts may not feel insecure to do hang-gliding or climb a mountain.

In my personal view, I believe that these activities are beneficial. First of all, many extreme sports enthusiasts undergo special training to perform these activities. This training involves consuming a balanced diet, strenuous physical training to develop body resilience which are directly beneficial to one’s health. Besides that, there is also another advantage. Climbing mountains have changed many people's views regarding the environment. Many mountain climbers are more aware of environmental issues after they reach a peak of a mountain. They have time to reflect on how beautiful this earth would be if people are aware of environmental issues. This reflection may change people's behavior regarding how they treat the environment.

To sum up, people participate in extreme activities because they want to know their limits and an increase of safety in equipment aspect. I think these activities bring benefits to its enthusiast because of the health benefits derived from this activity and the chance to change people's perspective about nature.