Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

It is believed that there is an increasingly wide disparity between the rich and the poor. This circumstance can lead to negative issues, and some steps need to be taken to deal with those problems.

To begin with, there are several adverse consequences caused by the economic inequality. The first one is that it results in a greater unfairness for people living below the poverty line. For example, while young people coming from a wealthy family often easily have a chance to study abroad at leading universities in the world, many poor ones almost cannot access the average quality education in their own country. As a result, good education opportunities turn out to be a luxury thing which only the wealthy can afford. Besides, when individuals that are poor fail to cover their basic needs in life, they usually are forced to commit crimes such as burglaries or robberies to have sufficient money in order to support themselves and their family. This contributes to an increasing in the crime rate in society.

However, some effective measures can be adopted to solve these problems. Firstly, it is necessary for the government to offer special educational opportunities such as full scholarships to students who have impoverished backgrounds, which would allow them to continue their study even when their parents could not pay for their tuition fees. Since more people are well-educated, the burden of society can be minimised due to the unemployment rate reduced. Secondly, the authorities also need to introduce laws favouring poorer citizens. This can be done by ensuring that wealthy people have to pay greater taxes than others. The public money therefore could be spent more for helping the underprivileged.

In conclusion, although the increasing gap between rich and poor people might have detrimental effects, many solutions are needed to tackle these issues.