Many people say that we have developed into a “throw-away society”, because we are filling up our environment with so many plastic bags and rubbish that we cannot fully dispose of. To want degree do you agree with this opinion?

It is true that the ever increasing waste produced from human activities is taking a heavy toll on the environment. In my opinion, the increasingly high consumption of goods and the contaminative industrial productions are two main factors contributing to this trend.

Nowadays, the rate at which daily necessities such as food, clothes and papers are consumed is dramatically rising due to the population boom. With people eating and using more, the amount of rubbish coming from the packaging of various commodities is exceeding the degrading capacity of our environment. What makes the situation worse is our tendency to use something once and throw it away. A typical example would be the one-off plastic bags with which consumers convey groceries from market to their home. The unrestricted use of these has resulted in the prevalence of plastic rubbish that cannot be thoroughly degraded.

Moreover, the intense industrial activities around the world are introducing more refuse to the environment. For instance, the poisonous metals such as lead and rotted steels deriving from the mass production of electrical devices and automobiles contribute largely to this problem. Additionally, most manufacturing methods utilised in production lines are not economic and clean. The poor availability of advanced recycling technology in industries leads to that recyclable materials such as plastic, concrete and ceramic are being randomly dumped all over the world. As it takes considerable long time for these to be digested by bacteria, the trend that industrial wastes are accumulating at an accelerating rate is difficult to stop.

In conclusion, a throw-away society is the result of the soaring amount of goods we need every day and the insufficiently regulated industrial activities. If proper measures are not taken promptly, this trend is likely to cause more serious problems to the environment and people’s lives.