“Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?”

Nowadays, technology is considered helpful in the modern world because of its convenience and modernity in our lives. However, some individuals believe that modern communication has a negative impact on social relationships. While it is undeniable that technology does bring about some disadvantages, I strongly believe that its benefits outweigh its drawbacks.

One of the disadvantages of technological communication is that it decreases the users’ social skills. According to supporters of this view, since people become more dependent on technology, they will gradually narrow their connection down to virtual conversations and neglect real-life interactions, leading to the degradation of societal etiquettes and rifts in personal relationships. With the convenience of new high-tech communication devices such as smartphones and chatting applications like Skype, Viber, or Facebook, users may no longer have a demand for face-to-face communication, which is a big drawback that modern technology has.

Despite its unavoidable downsides, it is obvious that developments in communication technology have provided people with significant benefits. First of all, modern technological innovations save time for users when it comes to communication purposes. Instead of having to wait for days for a letter to be delivered, people can now conveniently send messages within seconds by using email or Messenger. Additionally, people can also broaden their social relationships thanks to modern applications. With social networks like Twitter or Instagram, users can connect with others with the same interests and make friends worldwide. Moreover, communication technology helps address the difficulties in long-distance relationships. People in different regions can contact effortlessly through virtual connections with Facetime or Skype.

All in all, even though it is doubtless that modern communication does have some disadvantages, its advantages of contributing to how we manage our social relationships have undoubtedly outshadowed said negativity.