Many people think that is unnecessary to teach children handwriting skills in this technology ages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that in this fast-developing world we might prioritise typing over handwritten letters. While there is some truth in the assertation that we are increasingly depending on keyboard, it is not necessarily true that this is at the cost of our handwriting skills.

To begin with, touch-type is undeniably a very useful skill in order to derive substantial benefits from electric devices on a daily basis. What is more, this skill not only helps us to text via social networking sites such as Facebook or Instagram, but it also contributes to the career prospect of the young nowadays. As a result of technology development, mastering Microsoft Office software is a requirement when a graduate applies for a new job.

Having said that, writing by hand is obligatory at most school all around the world. This is because writing skills is linked to grammar as well as spelling and reading skills. Furthermore, students have to sit the exams that require handwriting such as national high school graduation examination. While computers or tablets are much more available in rural areas, it is likely to be unfair if handwriting skills is completely replaced by typing. In Vietnam, for example, students in remote areas are living in poor conditions that they can’t afford any electric devices. A further advantages of practicing writing by hand that is widely believed especially in Eastern countries is that it could increase their level of patience. As a result, this might have a contribution to personality development.

In conclusion, I can see no compelling reason why people should eliminate handwriting skills away from school. Granted, online-learning is becoming increasingly ubiquitous during the Covid-19 pandemic, but it shouldn’t mean that we completely rely on technological devices.