Some people believe that all wild animals should be protected. Others say that few wild animals should be protected instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that there is a growing concern that most wild animals are on the edge of extinction. While I tend toward the viewpoint that we should take wildlife conservation into account more seriously, I would have to support a limited number of species protected.

On the one hand, some people think that all wild animals should be protected. The main reason behind this view is that all of them play an important role in the ecosystem. Should there be one of these animals extinct, then the ecosystem might be unbalanced, and it may result in a catastrophic effect on the environment. Moreover, it is believed that all animals are important and should be equally treated. To clarify, protect some selected animals may lead to some others’ extinction.

On the other hand, there are a plethora of compelling reasons why we should focus on protecting only a certain number of wild animals. Firstly, overpopulation of wild animals could be a threat to our existence. In other words, some animals are danger to human life and resources. Kangaroo, case in point, its overpopulation caused so many troubles beyond control that kangaroo meat is encouraged for human consumption. The second reason is that conserving animals requires a large amount of money while these funds can be allocated for humanity issues instead, as many countries are struggling against Covid-19 pandemic or starvation.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be reasonable to support wildlife conservation because of its effect on the ecosystem. Having said that, I personally agreed with the idea of protecting a limited number of wild species.