In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

In this fast-developing world, the young have been granted with higher income and have better public services that lead to better quality of life; however, there is a growing concern that most of them do not feel happy. In this essay, I would shed light on the primary causes before outlining some viable solutions to mitigate the problems.

To begin with, the major cause is widely believed to be the heavy workload that young people have to deal with every day. High intensity of working might result in a decline in physical functional health. Besides work-related stress, peer pressure could also contribute to the depression that millions of young people are suffering from. With the availability of Internet access, youngsters are more likely to see the achievements of their friends, colleagues or even a stranger at the same age and then feel disappointed because of not having the things those people have. Thousands of suicides every year in Japan is clear evidence of the pressure that people, especially the young, have to face on a daily basis.

Having said that, many young people have recently found their own way to release themselves from depression. The most effective solution might be a better work-life balance accompanied with time management. Moreover, the young should spend their days off travelling and chilling out. There is a growing trend that people in their twenties have a gap year, which means they take a year away from their regular work or study. Another recommendation is that youngsters may contemplate limiting their use of social networks and involving more in physical-demanding activities instead. There has been research proving that exercising is beneficial for both physical and mental health.

In conclusion, depression in young people is arising from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Each person should learn to create balance in their life to lessen the negative impacts that they are suffering.